While most car companies already offered SUVs, Jaguar did not introduce its first SUV until 2016. This SUV has the power that you need to get you where you want to go and excellent technology to help you get there comfortably and safely. As a crossover SUV, the vehicle comes in four different trim levels. If you are looking for a luxury SUV, put this one on your shortlist.

Jaguar F-Pace Engine and Transmission

The Jaguar F-Pace has 50% of its weight in the front and 50% in the rear, making this vehicle easier to control. It also stays in rear-wheel drive unless you need the power of all-wheel drive.

There are three engine choices available in the Jaguar F-Pace. You can find options with a 180-horsepower, turbocharged 2.0-liter four-cylinder diesel engine.

You can also choose this model with two different gasoline engines, depending on the trim level. One option is the 340-horsepower, supercharged 3.0-liter V6 gasoline engine, and the other choice is the 380-horsepower, 3.0-liter V6 gasoline engine.

The engine pairs with a ZF-engineered, eight-speed automatic transmission. Many automakers have switched to this transmission because it changes gears faster than a traditional dual-clutch transmission. It also helps to keep this vehicle’s curb weight down so that you can get better gas mileage.

The diesel engine provides 26 miles to the gallon in the city and 33 miles to the gallon on the open highway. The gasoline engine delivers 18 miles to the gallon in the city and 23 miles on the highway.

Jaguar F-Pace Handling

Except in the S trim level, drivers can choose between four driving modes to get a ride that they enjoy and that is safe for the weather conditions. Drivers can choose between normal, eco, dynamic, and rain/ice/snow.

In the S trim level, drivers find more adaptive driving modes and larger brakes, making the vehicle even more comfortable to drive. You can find this superior system on other trim levels by adding it as an upgrade. The adaptive driving system reads the road up to 500 times per second and adjusts how the vehicle handles based on what it sees. This vehicle’s front aluminum double-wishbone suspension provides ample feedback to the driver. At the same time, the rear integral-link suspension helps to provide a more comfortable ride.

Jaguar F-Pace Appearance

Unlike many crossover SUVs that seem to have a pinched appearance, the Jaguar F-Pace has an aggressive-looking grille that perfectly balances Jaguar’s cat-like headlights. This vehicle’s long hood and muscular sides move sleekly while cruising down the highway.

Jaguar F-Pace Space and Cargo Room

You will find plenty of room inside the Jaguar F-Pace for passengers and cargo. The driver and front-seat passenger have 37.8 inches of headroom and 40.3 inches of front legroom. Those sitting in the three seats in the back have 37.5 inches of headroom and 37.2 inches of front legroom. Therefore, even if you are hauling adults, everyone will have ample space.

The Jaguar F-Pace has 69.1 cubic feet of storage space behind the front seats and 31.5 cubic feet behind the second row. Once inside, you will know that you are in a luxury vehicle, especially if you opt for a vehicle with the upgraded 14-way adjustable seats installed.

A deep dive into Jaguar’s first SUV: The Jaguar F-PaceJaguar F-Pace Technology

One of the reasons you will want this vehicle on your shortlist is due to the technology built into every Jaguar F-Pace. Consider the upgraded technology package because it has a fully customizable touchscreen that you can use as one screen, or you can split the screen into different functions. You can operate the system by using buttons on the left side of the steering wheel. A quadcore processor helps keep the system fast, so you do not experience the lag found in some systems.

The activity key allows you to lock the keys in the vehicle purposefully because the key is part of a bracelet. When you return to the car, touch the back tailgate with the bracelet, and the vehicle will unlock. The band is waterproof up to 65 feet, which is perfect for those who love to swim or to enjoy other outside adventures. It also eliminates the need to fumble for keys when your hands are full.

Jaguar F-Pace All-Surface Progress Control

The F-Pace comes with All-Surface Progress Control. When activated, this control allows the throttle to control the vehicle’s speed at between four and five miles per hour. It can be perfect for a short off-roading adventure or when unexpected weather makes it hard to control the vehicle.

A deep dive into Jaguar’s first SUV: The Jaguar F-PaceTrim Levels in the Jaguar F-Pace

The Jaguar F-Pace comes in five different trim levels with a couple having more than one option.

Jaguar F-Pace Base

The base level of the Jaguar F-Pace has the 2.0-liter engine as its own motor choice. It rides on 18-inch alloy wheels and features a panoramic sunroof and a keyless ignition. Once inside, the driver and front passengers have eight-way adjustable front simulated leather upholstery seats. The rear passengers have simulated leather seats. There is an 11-speaker high-definition audio system that offers Bluetooth and dual-zone climate control.

Jaguar F-Pace Premium

Step up a trim level, and you will be at the Jaguar F-Pace Premium. This trim level rides on 19-inch alloy wheels. In addition to the self-dimming mirrors found on the base level, the mirrors are power-folding on this trim level. This level also comes with a rearview camera and memory settings for the driver’s seat.

Jaguar F-Pace Prestige

The Jaguar F-Pace Prestige level is the lowest trim level to offer buyers a choice of engines. It also adds front and rear parking sensors. With genuine leather upholstery, the front seats are power adjustable. Drivers can get on the road faster in the winter because this trim level has a heated windshield and steering wheel.

Jaguar F-Pace R-Sport

Choose between a gasoline- or a diesel-powered Jaguar F-Pace R-Sports. With this trim, the tires increase in size by one inch, giving the vehicle extra ground clearance. In addition, this trim level has lots of safety equipment, including blind-spot monitoring, lane-keeping assistance, and forward-collision mitigation with automatic braking. Overall, this is the sportiest trim level in terms of appearance.

Jaguar F-Pace S

The top level in the Jaguar F-Pace is the S. The power liftgate makes getting everything in the vehicle so much easier. In some model years, this is the only trim level to get Jaguar’s most powerful engine. If you choose the engine upgrade, Jaguar calls this altered model the Portfolio trim level, and you also get a gesture-controlled tailgate and power-reclining rear seats.

The Verdict

If you are looking for a crossover SUV, then Jaguar’s first option is a very worthy candidate with its engine choices and the seamlessly gear-changing transmission. In addition, if you often take your vehicle on short off-roading expeditions or drive in less-than-ideal conditions, you have access to the All-Surface Progress Control. There is plenty of technology and comfort features to make this vehicle fun to drive.